DJ Awards 2009

Wed 14.07.2010

As the voting has now opened for the 13th annual DJ Awards (hosted at Pacha on 28 September 2010), we thought we'd show you what happened at the spectacular awards last year. Pacha resident, Sarah Main, caught up with singer, Barbara Tucker, as well as a few of the award winners, Ben Turner, Pete Tong, Sander Van Doorn and Jose Pascual, at the glamorous party, which kicked off early in the evening at the Ocean Drive Hotel and continued til dawn at Pacha. The DJ Awards were conceived in 1998 to honour and celebrate DJs and individuals who have influenced dance music across the globe, and where better to hold them than the summer dance capital of the world, Ibiza? Back in the day, the first 'track of the season' award went to Stardust's 'Music Sounds Better' and nominees included Sonique and Underworld; nowadays the categories and nominees have more than doubled, including Island favourites, Sven Vath, Erick Morillo, Carl Cox and Richie Hawtin, and introducing new phenomenons each year. To find out more and to place your votes, check out the site at: