DJ Awards 2008, Ibiza

Fri 24.10.2008

Celebrating another great year for electronic music, the 11th edition of the DJ Awards took place last month at Pacha in Ibiza. The star-studded ceremony was hosted by Des Paul (MTV/Capital radio) and Mariana Ribelo, and featured performances by Ron Carroll and Fragma.

Now of course DJsounds’ Lorna Cole was there to touch base with many of the top artists, and these included: Best Techno DJ winner Richie Hawtin; Luciano, who was nominated in two categories (Breakthrough and Tech House artist), and won Best Ibiza Set with Ricardo Villalobos for their prize turn at Cocoon. Next in the clip comes a quick catch up with the DJ Awards founders themselves – Lenny Ibizarre and Jose Pacual.

Then there’s Jon Sa Trinxa, who was nominated for best Ibiza Resident DJ; DJ Marky, who took the Dance Nation of the Year Brazil award; best Hip Hop winner, Muchomuchacho; and Jazzanova, who won the best Downtempo & Eclectic award. The confused techno DJ Adam Beyer, who took the Minimal kryptonite, follows, together with Funkagenda, who won Best Newcomer, and Best Ibiza Track with Mark Knight for their ubiquitous ‘Man With the Red Face’ cover.

Sarah Main, who picked up a technology award on behalf of Pioneer for best CD Player Innovation (for the CDJ-400 digital decks), also says a few words before our Ibiza team tracks down House winner David Guetta, along with winner of the best Breakthrough award Sander van Doorn, and Johannes Goller of Cocoon, who picked up a special award for Best Ibiza Night. Those representing Beatport (winner of the Outstanding Contribution award), Tiesto (best International DJ) and Armin van Buuren (best Trance DJ) are also interviewed, along with Sasha, winner of best Progressive House DJ. Award-winner David Guetta and his F*** Me I’m Famous party later rounded off the night perfectly at Pacha.

Words: LRC